

## **Edmonton Officially Welcomes New Mayor and City Council**

Edmonton's 35th Mayor and 12 City Councillors were officially sworn in at City Hall in an historic and memorable ceremony.

"Our citizens have elected a group of thoughtful and committed councillors. Their skills, experience and interests complement each other well," said Mayor Don Iveson. "We have a shared focus on the future and, together, we will work closely on making this city a far better place in four years' time than when we first arrived."



The ceremony began with a procession of City Council and included the singing of O'Canada by Shelley Jones and Matt Day and a blessing by Elder Francis Whiskeyjack. African Aboriginal dancers also performed.

The oaths of office were administered by the Honourable D.M. Manderscheid, a judge with the Court of Queen's Bench. Following the ceremony, the Mayor and City Councillors held their inaugural meeting in Council Chambers.

## Edmonton's new City Council is:

Mayor Don Iveson Ward 1 Andrew Knack Ward 2 Bev Esslinger Ward 3 Dave Loken Ward 4 Ed Gibbons Ward 5 Michael Oshry Ward 6 Scott McKeen Ward 7 Tony Caterina Ward 8 Ben Henderson Ward 9 Bryan Anderson Ward 10 Michael Walters Ward 11 Mike Nickel Ward 12 Amarjeet Sohi

The new Council will serve a four-year term with the next municipal election scheduled for October 2017.

## Media contact:

Melissa Lovatt Senior Communications Advisor Council Services Communications Office: 780-944-5585

Mobile: 780-719-0544



3rd Floor, City Hall 1 Sir Winston Churchill Square NW Edmonton, AB T5J 2R7 www.edmonton.ca

Subscribe | Unsubscribe | Printer Friendly Version

This email was created and delivered through Mailout