

June 16, 2014

City of Edmonton

Local heroes inducted into Edmonton Hall of Fame

Nine Edmontonians were inducted into the City of Edmonton Hall of Fame at the 63rd annual Salute to Excellence ceremony. Each was honoured for improving Edmonton's livability through outstanding achievements in arts and culture, community service or sports.



"The City of Edmonton is home to many remarkable people who elevate well-being in their communities," said Wayor Don Iveson. "Salute to Excellence allows us to recognize the extraordinary leadership and achievement of each of tonight's honourees."

The founder of the Shumka dance company and former mayor Stephen Mandel were among the 2014 inductees. In addition, The University Ringette Team (2011-2014) was given the Award of Distinction for winning gold in the University and College Ringette League's University Challenge Cup over the past three seasons as well as their work to raise money for cancer research.

"The passion and dedication of these citizens have put Edmonton on the map," said Dennis Belair, Co-Chair of the Salute to Excellence Council. "They are truly deserving of the honour of being included in Edmonton's Hall of Fame."

Photos of past Hall of Fame inductees for both sports and community services are on display at City Hall, while those from the arts and culture community are honoured at the Citadel Theatre.

Arts & Culture Hall of Fame

Established in 1986 to honour outstanding individuals and groups whose body of work in arts and culture has brought recognition to the City of Edmonton and helped cultivate our vibrant arts and culture spirit.

Eva Bostrand (Artist/Builder) William (Bill) Dimmer (Artist/Builder) Duo Majoya: Dr. Mamie Giesbrecht and Dr. Joachim Segger (Artists/Builders) Chester Kuc (Artist/Builder)

Community Service Hall of Fame

Established in 2004 to honour outstanding individuals or organizations who have made a significant or lifetime contribution to the community by raising awareness, creating new institutions where needed or strengthening the character of our community by providing a role model and venue for our growth as responsible and compassionate citizens.

Stephen & Lynn Mandel (Community Leaders) Larry R. Pempeit (Community Leader) John W. Chomiak (Community Leader)

Award of Distinction

The University Ringette Team (2011-2014)

For the full biographies of the winners, please read the Hall of Fame event program.

For more information:

Salute to Excellence

Media contact:

Christopher Webster Communications Advisor Community Services 780-496-8259

3rd Floor, City Hall 1 Sir Winston Churchill Square NW Edmonton, AB T5J 2R7 www.edmonton.ca





Subscribe | Unsubscribe | Printer Friendly Version

This email was created and delivered through Industry Mailout