

U-Pass welcomes three new municipalities

November 24, 2016

Starting January 1, 2017, hundreds of post-secondary students from Fort Saskatchewan, Leduc and Spruce Grove will be included in the Universal Transit Pass (U-Pass) program. Post-secondary students who live in the new partner municipalities will now have access to all partner transit services without having to purchase separate fares.



Students enrolled in most credit courses at the University of Alberta. MacEwan University, the Northern Alberta Institute of Technology (NAIT) and NorQuest College are eligible for the U-Pass program.

"Students who attend a participating post-secondary institution in Edmonton but live outside of the city faced additional daily transit fees in order to reach classes. On the flipside, all students faced the same barrier if they needed to reach surrounding communities for practicums, classes or other activities. Expanding the U-Pass program means more affordable and convenient transit for these students," said Robyn Paches, vice president operations and finance of the University of Alberta Students' Union.

"As our communities continue to grow, participating in the U-Pass program was an easy choice for the municipalities joining the program. It supports the students in our communities who are traveling across city boundaries to create life-changing opportunities for themselves," said Mayor Gale Katchur of Fort Saskatchewan.

"Edmonton is a hub of highly recognized post-secondary institutions. Tens of thousands of students rely on public transit every day, many of them transferring between municipal providers. Expanding the program participation is a great example of the type of regional collaboration we want to see," noted Edmonton Mayor,

Each post-secondary institution will provide students with a transit sticker for their student ID. The stickers are valid per term across all participating municipalities

The U-Pass was first introduced as a three-year pilot project in September 2007 with the approval of Edmonton, St. Albert and Strathcona County City Councils. It provided unlimited transit use on Edmonton, St. Albert and Strathcona County systems to post-secondary students at the University of Alberta and Grant MacEwan College. The cost of this service was included in student fees.

The pilot project concluded and became a permanent program in April 2010. NAIT joined the U-Pass program in 2010 and NorQuest College joined in 2013.

For more information:

takeETS.com/upass

Media contacts:

Jennifer Laraway Communications Advisor Edmonton Transit System Office: 780-496-5751 Mobile: 780-690-1605

Will Steblyk Manager, Planning and Customer Service St. Albert Transit Office:780-418-6024 Mbbile: 780-905-4296

Jennifer Hetherington Communications Manager

City of Spruce Grove Office: 780-962-7612

Wendy Kinsella
Director, Corporate Communications City of Fort Saskatchewan Office:780-992-6155 Mobile:780-405-1974

Nikki Booth
Communications and Marketing Services Manager City of Leduc Office: 780-980-7843

Mobile: 780-340-7483 Sherri-Dawn Annett

Senior Communications Advisor. Office: 780-416-6795 Mobile: 780-995-6677

























3rd Floor, City Hall 1 Sir Winston Churchill Square NW Edmonton, AB T5.L2R7 www.edmonton.ca

This email was created and delivered through Mailout